• No products in the cart.

Al-Muwatta and the Books of the Four Imams


Course Overview

In this course – the first part of the Bustan al-Muhhaddithin series – students will primarily study the biography of Mālik ibn Anas ibn Mālik al-Asbahī, and analyse and evaluate the methodological framework and the different forms of transmission used in his renowned text: Al-Muwatta.

al-Muwatta is the forerunner of the other books of hadith, as it is the first that compiled ahadith and narrations in a systematic manner, to be used as a manual of fiqh and akhlaq – this is the model which was further developed by Imams Bukhari, Muslim and others.


The biographies, hadith compilations, and methodologies attributed to Imams Abu Hanifa, Shafi’i, and Ahmad ibn Hanbal will also be looked at, in addition to their most prominent students and transmissions.

Learning Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course, students will be able to:

  • Understand the significance, history, and development of the hadith science
  • Gain familiarity with the earliest generation of Muhaddithin and later hadith specialists
  • Understand the methodological framework used by Imam Malik
  • Develop a detailed understanding of the different Isnads through which al-Muwatta is transmitted.

Course Reviews


3 ratings
  • 5 stars2
  • 4 stars1
  • 3 stars0
  • 2 stars0
  • 1 stars0
  1. Awesomeness


    Awesome course!

  2. Informative!


    Very detailed discussion on the muwatta and the 4 imams. Worth a watch!

  3. 5

    Good introductory course ma sha Allah.

   © 2019 ASI