• No products in the cart.

The Six Primary Hadith Compilations


Course Overview

This course provides a comprehensive and detailed overview of the six primary hadith compilations, known as the Sahih Sittah (The Six Sahih) or the Kutub al-Sittah (The Six Books). Students will focus on the famous collections of Imams Bukhari, Muslim, Abu Dawud, Nasa’i, ibn Majah, and Tirmidhi.

It is said that Imam Bukhari prayed two raka’at (units of prayer) before deciding on a Chapter heading for his hadith, such importance did he place on the attribution. Alternatively, Imam Muslim chose not include any Chapter headings in his Sahih collection whatsoever. Those headings that we see in modern editions of the text were in fact added by Imam Nawawi – 4 Centuries after the completion of the book. The significance of these differences as well as crucial information regarding the ‘conditions’ of each author will be taught in this second part of the Bustan al-Muhaddithin series.


Learning Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course, students should be able to:

  • demonstrate a deep understanding of the conditions of the Two Shaykhs (Imams Bukhari and Muslim)
  • gain familiarity with the six famous collections of Bukhari, Muslim, Abu Dawud, Imam Nasa’i, Ibn Majah, and Imam Tirmidhi
  • develop an insightful understanding of the science of hadith and isnad criticism
  • appreciate the different juristic and interpretative methodologies used by the muhaddithin

Course Reviews


2 ratings
  • 5 stars2
  • 4 stars0
  • 3 stars0
  • 2 stars0
  • 1 stars0
  1. Deep!!!


    Excellent discussion on the 6 major Hadith collectors, their biography, zuhd and their legacy.

  2. Fantastic


    Amazing course. Learned a lot about Imam Al-Bukhari and Imam Muslim’s approach to their collections.

   © 2019 ASI